Wimbledon guide, Wimbledon tennis tournament, Wimbledon winners

Sports Channel / Bullz-Eye Home

Domination is a word that closely classifies what Wimbledon has become since its creation in 1877. Unlike other sports, the Wimbledon tennis tournament does not seem to favor parity between its players.

Every decade, Wimbledon appears to breed another star that dominates the grass court in England. In the 1880s it was William Renshaw who won six straight years from 1881 to 1886 and once more in 1889.

Renshaw’s seven Wimbledon crowns went unmatched until the 1990s when US-born Pete Sampras took seven championships ranging from 1993 to 2000. In the 70s it was Bjorn Borg and in the 80s cocky, but always entertaining John McEnroe nabbed three titles. Boris Becker also had success in the 80s with three Wimbledon Championships.

The women’s side has been no less dominating. Nobody has touched the ranks of Martina Navratilova’s success of nine Wimbledon trophies. The closest contestants are Helen Wills Moody (8) and Steffi Graph (7).

Of course you cannot mention Wimbledon without mentioning the likes of Billie Jean King. King established the first successful women's professional tennis tour and was the first female athlete to win over $100,000 prize money in a single season.

In 1967 she was selected as "Outstanding Female Athlete of the World". In 1972 she was named Sports Illustrated "Sportsperson of the Year", the first woman to be so honored; and in 1973, she was dubbed "Female Athlete of the Year".

If years past are any indication, Wimbledon tennis will have more dominating players to come. Men’s superstar Roger Federer has won four straight titles and even though he has never won a Wimbledon crown, Andy Roddick is on the horizon.

There has never been a combination of players like the Williams sisters, Venus and Serena. The sisters have traded championships every year since 2000 with the exception of 2004 and 2006. Venus won back-to-back titles in ’00-01, where as Serena dominated in ’02-03.

The 2007 Wimbledon tournament will be held June 25 to July 8. For previews, recaps and general information, check out the web guide below.

Our latest sports content can be found in the Sports category in our new magazine format. Archived sports content can be found in the Sports category in our blog.

Top Information Websites

Wimbledon 2007
Official web site of Wimbledon 2007 features news on players, photos and an audio and video section.

The United State Tennis Association’s official website features in depth information about pro tennis, tournaments and leagues.

Source for tennis news, player stories and overall entertainment.

SLAM! Sports: Tennis
Wimbledon stories, stats and even a tennis fantasy section.

ESPN.com Tennis
ESPN.com’s official tennis web page.

FOX Sports.com Tennis
FOX Sports.com page gives you news stories, photos and rankings for both the ATP and WTA.


Roger Federer • Best Ever Wimbledon Shots

One of the greatest? Borg v McEnroe Wimbledon Final 1980

Past Wimbledon Winners

.Year .Men .Women
2007 Roger Federer Venus Williams
2006 Roger Federer Amelie Mauresmo
2005 Roger Federer Venus Williams
2004 Roger Federer Maria Sharapova
2003 Roger Federer Serena Williams
2002 Lleyton Hewitt Serena Williams
2001 Goran Ivanisevic Venus Williams
2000 Pete Sampras Venus Williams
1999 Pete Sampras Lindsay Davenport
1998 Pete Sampras Jana Novotna
1997 Pete Sampras Martina Hingis
1996 Richard Krajicek Steffi Graf
1995 Pete Sampras Steffi Graf
1994 Pete Sampras Conchita Martinez
1993 Pete Sampras Steffi Graf
1992 Andre Agassi Steffi Graf
1991 Michael Stich Steffi Graf
1990 Stefan Edberg Martina Navratilova
1989 Boris Becker Steffi Graf
1988 Stefan Edberg Steffi Graf
1987 Pat Cash Martina Navratilova
1986 Boris Becker Martina Navratilova
1985 Boris Becker Martina Navratilova
1984 John McEnroe Martina Navratilova
1983 John McEnroe Martina Navratilova
1982 Jimmy Connors Martina Navratilova
1981 John McEnroe Chris Evert Lloyd
1980 Bjorn Borg Evonne Goolagong Cawley
1979 Bjorn Borg Martina Navratilova
1978 Bjorn Borg Martina Navratilova
1977 Bjorn Borg Virginia Wade
1976 Bjorn Borg Chris Evert
1975 Arthur Ashe Billie Jean King
1974 Jimmy Connors Chris Evert
1973 Jan Kodes Billie Jean King
1972 Stan Smith Billie Jean King
1971 John Newcombe Evonne Goolagong
1970 John Newcombe Margaret Smith Court
1969 Rod Laver Ann Haydon Jones
1968 Rod Laver Billie Jean King
1967 John Newcombe Billie Jean King
1966 Manuel Santana Billie Jean King
1965 Roy Emerson Margaret Smith
1964 Roy Emerson Maria Bueno
1963 Chuck McKinley Margaret Smith
1962 Rod Laver Karen Hantze Susman
1961 Rod Laver Angela Mortimer
1960 Neale Fraser Maria Bueno
1959 Alex Olmedo Maria Bueno
1958 Ashley Cooper Althea Gibson
1957 Lew Hoad Althea Gibson
1956 Lew Hoad Shirley Fry
1955 Tony Trabert Louise Brough
1954 Jaroslav Drobny Maureen Connolly
1953 Vic Seixas Maureen Connolly
1952 Frank Sedgman Maureen Connolly
1951 Dick Savitt Doris Hart
1950 Budge Patty Louise Brough
1949 Ted Schroeder Louise Brough
1948 Bob Falkenburg Louise Brough
1947 Jack Kramer Margaret Osborne
1946 Yvon Petra Pauline Betz
1945 Not held Not held
1944 Not held Not held
1943 Not held Not held
1942 Not held Not held
1941 Not held Not held
1940 Not held Not held
1939 Bobby Riggs Alice Marble
1938 Don Budge Helen Wills Moody
1937 Don Budge Dorothy Round
1936 Fred Perry Helen Jacobs
1935 Fred Perry Helen Wills Moody
1934 Fred Perry Dorothy Round
1933 Jack Crawford Helen Wills Moody
1932 Ellsworth Vines Helen Wills Moody
1931 Sidney Wood Cilly Aussem
1930 Bill Tilden Helen Wills Moody
1929 Henri Cochet Helen Wills
1928 Rene Lacoste Helen Wills
1927 Henri Cochet Helen Wills
1926 Jean Borotra Kathleen McKane Godfree
1925 Rene Lacoste Suzanne Lenglen
1924 Jean Borotra Kathleen McKane
1923 William Johnston Suzanne Lenglen
1922 Gerald Patterson Suzanne Lenglen
1921 Bill Tilden Suzanne Lenglen
1920 Bill Tilden Suzanne Lenglen
1919 Gerald Patterson Suzanne Lenglen
1918 Not held Not held
1917 Not held Not held
1916 Not held Not held
1915 Not held Not held
1914 Norman Brookes Dorothea Lambert Chambers
1913 Anthony Wilding Dorothea Lambert Chambers
1912 Anthony Wilding Ethel Thomson Larcombe
1911 Anthony Wilding Dorothea Lambert Chambers
1910 Anthony Wilding Dorothea Lambert Chambers
1909 Arthur Gore Dora Boothby
1908 Arthur Gore Charlotte Cooper Sterry
1907 Norman Brookes May Sutton
1906 Laurie Doherty Dorothea Douglass
1905 Laurie Doherty May Sutton
1904 Laurie Doherty Dorothea Douglass
1903 Laurie Doherty Dorothea Douglass
1902 Laurie Doherty Muriel Robb
1901 Arthur Gore Charlotte Cooper Sterry
1900 Reggie Doherty Blanche Bingley Hillyard
1899 Reggie Doherty Blanche Bingley Hillyard
1898 Reggie Doherty Charlotte Cooper
1897 Reggie Doherty Blanche Bingley Hillyard
1896 Harold Mahoney Charlotte Cooper
1895 Wilfred Baddeley Charlotte Cooper
1894 Joshua Pim Blanche Bingley Hillyard
1893 Joshua Pim Charlotte Dod
1892 Wilfred Baddeley Charlotte Dod
1891 Wilfred Baddeley Charlotte Dod
1890 William Hamilton Lena Rice
1889 William Renshaw Blanche Bingley Hillyard
1888 Ernest Renshaw Charlotte Dod
1887 Herbert Lawford Charlotte Dod
1886 William Renshaw Blanche Bingley
1885 William Renshaw Maud Watson
1884 William Renshaw Maud Watson
1883 William Renshaw Not held
1882 William Renshaw Not held
1881 William Renshaw Not held
1880 John Hartley Not held
1879 John Hartley Not held
1878 Frank Hadow Not held
1877 Spencer Gore Not held

You can follow us on Twitter and Facebook for content updates. Also, sign up for our email list for weekly updates and check us out on Google+ as well.

Around the Web