British Open, British Open winners

Sports Channel / Bullz-Eye Home

The oldest and arguably the most prestigious of the four major golf championships is the Open Championship, or the British Championship as it is most commonly referred to.

The third championship that is played yearly behind the Masters and US Open tournaments, the British Open has been an official event on the PGA Tour since 1995. The tournament is played on a links course, which is near coastal areas and on sandy soil. The course has few water hazards, if any and often has small, deep bunkers referred to as “pot bunkers”.

Twenty-four players have won more than one Open Championship victory since the birth of the tournament in 1860. Harry Vardon owns the record for British Open titles with six. The Englishman won his first title in 1896 at the Muirfield Golf Course.

Four golfers have five wins apiece including Peter Thomson, James Braid, J.H. Taylor and Tom Watson. Old Tom Morris holds the record for the widest margin of victory at 13 and was one of the pioneers of golf. Both he and his son, Young Tom Morris, share three titles apiece.

Padraig Harrington won the most recent title in 2007 after beating Sergio Garcia by one stroke in a thrilling four-hole playoff. Harrington became the first Irish winner of the British Open since Fred Daly in 1947.

Another impressive victory at the Open Championship happened in ‘01 where David Duval achieved his first major after entering the event at 33 to 1 odds. Duval seemingly came out of nowhere after barely surviving the opening round of the tournament.

Our latest sports content can be found in the Sports category in our new magazine format. Archived sports content can be found in the Sports category in our blog.

Top Information Websites
Information and updates.
Official website of the United States Golf Association with links to both men and women‘s tournaments and championships.

Britannica - British Open
Cool history of The Open Championship.

The History of British Open Golf Championship
The British Open golf championship, the oldest major tournament, takes place on one of the historic courses in England or Scotland. Officially named the Open Championship, it starts on the third Thursday of July and is the only major played outside the United States.


Top 10 Moments from The Open Championship at St Andrews

British Open Winners

.Year .Winner
2008 Padraig Harrington
2007 Padraig Harrington
2006 Tiger Woods
2005 Tiger Woods
2004 Todd Hamilton
2003 Ben Curtis
2002 Ernie Els
2001 David Duval
2000 Tiger Woods
1999 Paul Lawrie
1998 Mark O'Meara
1997 Justin Leonard
1996 Tom Lehman
1995 John Daly
1994 Nick Price
1993 Greg Norman
1992 NickFaldo
1991 Ian Baker-Finch
1990 NickFaldo
1989 Mark Calcavecchia
1988 Seve Ballesteros
1987 Nick Faldo
1986 Greg Norman
1985 Sandy Lyle
1984 Seve Ballesteros
1983 Tom Watson
1982 Tom Watson
1981 Bill Rogers
1980 Tom Watson
1979 Seve Ballesteros
1978 Jack Nicklaus
1977 Tom Watson
1976 Johnny Miller
1975 Tom Watson
1974 Gary Player
1973 Tom Weiskopf
1972 Lee Trevino
1971 Lee Trevino
1970 Jack Nicklaus
1969 Tony Jacklin
1968 Gary Player
1967 Roberto deVicenzo
1966 Jack Nicklaus
1965 Peter Thomson
1964 Tony Lema
1963 Bob Charles
1962 Arnold Palmer
1961 Arnold Palmer
1960 Kel Nagle
1959 Gary Player
1958 Peter Thomson
1957 Bobby Locke
1956 Peter Thomson
1955 Peter Thomson
1954 Peter Thomson
1953 Ben Hogan
1952 Bobby Locke
1951 Max Faulkner
1950 Bobby Locke
1949 Bobby Locke
1948 Henry Cotton
1947 Fred Daly
1946 Sam Snead
1940-45 Not played
1939 Richard Burton
1938 R.A. Whitcombe
1937 Henry Cotton
1936 Alfred Padgham
1935 Alfred Perry
1934 Henry Cotton
1933 Denny Shute
1932 Gene Sarazen
1931 Tommy Armour
1930 Robert Jones Jr.
1929 Walter Hagen
1928 Walter Hagen
1927 Robert Jones Jr.
1926 Robert Jones Jr.
1925 James Barnes
1924 Walter Hagen
1923 Arthur Havers
1922 Walter Hagen
1921 Jock Hutchison
1920 George Duncan
1915-19 Not played
1914 Harry Vardon
1913 J.H. Taylor
1912 Edward Ray
1911 Harry Vardon
1910 James Braid
1909 J.H. Taylor
1908 James Braid
1907 Arnaud Massy
1906 James Braid
1905 James Braid
1904 Jack White
1903 Harry Vardon
1902 Alexander Herd
1901 James Braid
1900 J.H. Taylor
1899 Harry Vardon
1898 Harry Vardon
1897 Harold Hilton
1896 Harry Vardon
1895 J.H. Taylor
1894 J.H. Taylor
1893 William Auchterlonie
1892 Harold Hilton
1891 Hugh Kirkaldy
1890 John Ball
1889 Willie Park Jr.
1888 Jack Burns
1887 Willie Park Jr.
1886 David Brown
1885 Bob Martin
1884 Jack Simpson
1883 Willie Fernie
1882 Robert Ferguson
1881 Robert Ferguson
1880 Robert Ferguson
1879 Jamie Anderson
1878 Jamie Anderson
1877 Jamie Anderson
1876 Robert Martin
1875 Willie Park
1874 Mungo Park
1873 Tom Kidd
1872 Tom Morris Jr.
1871 Not played
1870 Tom Morris Jr.
1869 Tom Morris Jr.
1868 Tom Morris Jr.
1867 Tom Morris Sr.
1866 Willie Park
1865 Andrew Strath
1864 Tom Morris Sr.
1863 Willie Park
1862 Tom Morris Sr.
1861 Tom Morris Sr.
1860 Willie Park

You can follow us on Twitter and Facebook for content updates. Also, sign up for our email list for weekly updates and check us out on Google+ as well.

Around the Web