PGA Championship guide, PGA Championship golf tournament, PGA Championship winners

Sports Channel / Bullz-Eye Home

The PGA Championship is often hailed as a “privilege” for a golfer, in that it makes his career much more secure if he is not already one of the elite in the sport.

PGA champions are automatically invited to play in the other three majors (The Masters, US Open and British Open) for the next five years and are exempt from qualifying for the PGA Championship for life. They also receive membership on the PGA TOUR for the following five seasons and invitations to The Players Championship for five years.

Out of the 90 times that a PGA Championship has been crowned, only 18 men can say that they have won two or more of those titles since the inaugural year of 1916.

Nobody has won more PGA Championships than Walter Hagen and Jack Nicklaus. Both golfers share five titles apiece ranging from 1921 to 1980. Hagen won all five of his championships in the 1920s, while Nicklaus’ titles are spread out through the 60s, 70s and 1980.

The next closest golfer to the five-win feat is Tiger Woods, who has four. Gene Sarazen and Sam Snead each have three and there are a total of 13 players who have a total of two wins each, including Vijay Singh and Lee Trevino.

Consider the golfers who have never won a PGA Championship and the multiple win triumph can be even more appreciated.

Arnold Palmer, Tom Watson and Nick Faldo are just three names that have never won a PGA Championship. Phil Mickelson finished second, third and sixth before finally capturing his first PGA Championship in 2005.

If the PGA Championship does in fact give golfers several privileges in which make his career much more secure, what does it mean for the golfers who have won two or more of those titles?

Our latest sports content can be found in the Sports category in our new magazine format. Archived sports content can be found in the Sports category in our blog.

Top Information Web Sites

PGA Championship:
The official site of the PGA Championship provides news, event info and a look at the history of the PGA tournament.

Senior PGA Championship:
Official site of the Senior PGA Championship.

The Golf Channel:
The latest news, player profiles, current weather forecasts, complete TV air times and a look back at the 2005 championship.

Golf Online:
Keep up with the latest news, catch the scores on the leader board, get the full schedule, key statistics and find out who the money leaders are as the tournaments lead up to the action in the PGA Championship.

BBC Golf:
Watch for classic coverage of this year's championship with the Beeb's usual top-notch video and audio reports, live updates, news features, schedule, standings, and player profiles.


Phil Mickelson's FULL Final Hole and Reaction as he Wins the 2021 PGA Championship.

The Greatest PGA Championship Moments Ever.

PGA Championship Winners

.Year .Winner
2008 Padraig Harrington, Oakland Hills Country Club, Bloomfield Township, Michigan
2007 Tiger Woods, Southern Hills Country Club, Tulsa, Oklahoma
2006 Tiger Woods, Medinah Country Club, Medinah, Illinois
2005 Phil Mickelson, Baltsurol, Springfield, New Jersey
2004 Vijay Singh, Whistling Straits, Kohler, Wisconsin
2003 Shaun Micheel, Oak Hill, Rochester, New York
2002 Rich Beem, Hazeltine, Chaska, Minnesota
2001 David Toms, Atlanta Athletic Club, Duluth, Georgia
2000 Tiger Woods, Valhalla, Louisville, Kentucky
1999 Tiger Woods, Medinah, Medinah, Illinois
1998 Vijay Singh, Sahalee, Redmond, Washington
1997 Davis Love III, Winged Foot, Mamaroneck, New York
1996 Mark Brooks, Valhalla, Louisville, Kentucky
1995 Steve Elkington, Riviera, Los Angeles, California
1994 Nick Price, Southern Hills, Tulsa, Oklahoma
1993 Paul Azinger, Inverness, Toledo, Ohio
1992 Nick Price, Bellerive, St. Louis
1991 John Daly, Crooked Stick, Carmel, Indiana
1990 Wayne Grady, Shoal Creek, Birmingham, Alabama
1989 Payne Stewart, Kemper Lakes, Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
1988 Jeff Sluman, Oak Tree, Edmond, Oklahoma
1987 Larry Nelson, PGA National, Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1986 Bob Tway, Inverness, Toledo, Ohio
1985 Hubert Green, Cherry Hills, Denver
1984 Lee Trevino, Shoal Creek, Birmingham, Alabama
1983 Hal Sutton, Riviera, Pacific Palisades, California
1982 Raymond Floyd, Southern Hills, Tulsa, Oklahoma
1981 Larry Nelson, Atlanta Athletic Club, Duluth, Georgia
1980 Jack Nicklaus, Oak Hill, Rochester, New York
1979 David Graham, Oakland Hills, Birmingham, Michigan
1978 John Mahaffey, Oakmont, Oakmont, Pennsylvania
1977 Lanny Wadkins, Pebble Beach, Pebble Beach, California
1976 Dave Stockton, Congressional, Bethesda, Maryland
1975 Jack Nicklaus, Firestone, Akron, Ohio
1974 Lee Trevino, Tanglewood, Winston-Salem, North Carolina
1973 Jack Nicklaus, Canterbury, Cleveland
1972 Gary Player, Oakland Hills, Birmingham, Alabama
1971 Jack Nicklaus, PGA National, Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1970 Dave Stockton, Southern Hills, Tulsa, Oklahoma
1969 Ray Floyd, NCR, Dayton, Ohio
1968 Julius Boros, Pecan Valley, San Antonio, Texas
1967 Don January, Columbine, Littleton, Colorado
1966 Al Geiberger, Firestone, Akron, Ohio
1965 Dave Marr, Laurel Valley, Ligonier, Pennsylvania
1964 Bobby Nichols, Columbus, Columbus, Ohio
1963 Jack Nicklaus, Dallas Athletic Club, Dallas
1962 Gary Player, Aronomink, Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
1961 Jerry Barber, Olympia Fields, Olympia Fields, Illinois
1960 Jay Hebert, Firestone, Akron, Ohio
1959 Bob Rosburg, Minneapolis, St. Louis Park, Minnesota
1958 Dow Finsterwald, Llanerch, Havertown, Pennsylvania
1957 Lionel Hebert, Miami Valley, Dayton, Ohio
1956 Jack Burke, Blue Hill, Boston
1955 Doug Ford, Meadowbrook, Detroit
1954 Chick Harbert, Keller, St. Paul, Minnesota
1953 Walter Burkemo, Birmingham, Birmingham, Michigan
1952 Jim Turnesa, Big Spring, Louisville, Kentucky
1951 Sam Snead, Oakmont, Oakmont, Pennsylvania
1950 Chandler Harper, Scioto, Columbus, Ohio
1949 Sam Snead, Hermitage, Richmond, Virginia
1948 Ben Hogan, Norwood Hills, St. Louis
1947 Jim Ferrier, Plum Hollow, Detroit
1946 Ben Hogan, Portland, Portland, Oregon
1945 Byron Nelson, Morraine, Dayton, Ohio
1944 Bob Hamilton, Manito, Spokane, Washington
1943 No championship played
1942 Sam Snead, Seaview, Atlantic City, New Jersey
1941 Vic Ghezzi, Cherry Hills, Denver
1940 Byron Nelson, Hershey, Hershey, Pennsylvania
1939 Henry Picard, Pomonok, Flushing, New York
1938 Paul Runyan, Shawnee, Shawnee-on-Delaware, Pennsylvania
1937 Denny Shute, Pittsburgh, Aspinwall, Pennsylvania
1936 Denny Shute, Pinehurst, Pinehurst, North Carolina
1935 Johnny Revolta, Twin Hills, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1934 Paul Runyan, Park, Williamsville, New York
1933 Gene Sarazen, Blue Mound, Milwaukee
1932 Olin Dutra, Keller, St. Paul, Minnesota
1931 Tom Creavy, Wannamoisett, Rumford, Rhode Island
1930 Tommy Armour, Fresh Meadow, Flushing, New York
1929 Leo Diegel, Hillcrest, Los Angeles
1928 Leo Diegel, Five Farms, Baltimore
1927 Walter Hagen, Cedar Crest, Dallas
1926 Walter Hagen, Salisbury, Westbury, New York
1925 Walter Hagen, Olympia Fields, Olympia Fields, Illinois
1924 Walter Hagen, French Lick, French Lick, Indiana
1923 Gene Sarazen, Pelham, Pelham, New York
1922 Gene Sarazen, Oakmont, Oakmont, Pennsylvania
1921 Walter Hagen, Inwood, Far Rockaway, New York
1920 Jock Hutchison, Flossmoor, Flossmoor, Illinois
1919 James M. Barnes, Engineers, Roslyn, New York
1918 No championship played
1917 No championship played
1916 James M. Barnes, Siwanoy, Bronxville, New York

You can follow us on Twitter and Facebook for content updates. Also, sign up for our email list for weekly updates and check us out on Google+ as well.

Around the Web